Local Edibles, Cranberries and Crowberries

Image

Low bush cranberry bushes grow just a few centimeters tall. They have small, dark green leaves that are stiff and somewhat shiny. The best time to pick low bush cranberries is just after the first frost, which for me is this weekend. I will be rinsing and straining the berries and freezing them for home-made cranberry sauce this holiday season. Cranberries are also wonderful additions to muffins and breads.

Image

Black crowberries, also a small plant similar in size to the low bush cranberry, have small evergreen-like needles instead of leaves. The needles are a medium blue-green in color and the berries are a dark blackish purple. Black crowberries can be made into pies and jam. I’ve never tried cooking with crowberries, but I plan to harvest some this fall and try my hand at crowberry jam.

